My Bookish Valentines

This is a list of 14 of my book boyfriends.  Those strapping young (or century old) men who have a special place in my heart because of the roles they played in come of my dearest of books. The first five are my favorite so I’ve decided to write a little bit on each one but that doesn’t mean that any of the others are any less special.  Happy Valentine’s day!  You don’t need a real-life boyfriend when you can lose yourself with any of these special boys.

  1. Rhysand – ACOMAF

“I fell in love with you, smartass, because you were one of us—because you weren’t afraid of me, and you decided to end your spectacular victory by throwing that piece of bone at Amarantha like a javelin. I felt Cassian’s spirit beside me in that moment, and could have sworn I heard him say, ‘If you don’t marry her, you stupid prick, I will.”

I feel like if you don’t love Rhys, you haven’t read ACOMAF and are committing a major crime.  I’ve read it twice and am on my third time of listening to it and I AM NOT ASHAMED.  Seriously every time I go through it again I pick something new out that I love and that’s pretty awesome.  Rhys is a tortured soul who won’t hesitate to kill an enemy but he’s also the kind of guy who will flirt you out of depression and would die defending you.  I won’t say much here because I already wrote an EXTREMELY long post about his love for Feyre on Tumblr one night when I was drunk on wine and I will never be able to write a better post about him.  You can find it here if you’re interested, lol: http://arielle-reads.tumblr.com/post/149858231896/wine-buzzed-acomaf-feelings

  1. Will Herondale – The Infernal Devices

“I am catastrophically in love with you.”

Before I fell down the rabbit hole that is the world of Sarah J. Maas, I was obsessed with TID.  I think it also had to do with the fact that I felt like Tessa in that I was with one person and thought I still loved him, while also being in love with another person.  That may sound crappy but that other person is now my fiancée and I couldn’t be happier.  I just could relate to Tessa and yes, I may have a weakness for tortured souls with dark hair and blue eyes but that’s beside the point.  It also helps that their love language was books because I am a freaking librarian.  Sooo when Will could just like spout off bit of poetry, it’s no wonder that I fell in love.  Did I also mention that these books are set in Victorian England?  Well it is and that for me, just added to the romance. Sigh.  He’ll always have a place in my heart.

  1. Chaol Westfall – Throne of Glass

“There had never been any line between them, only his own stupid fear and pride. Because from the moment he’d pulled her out of that mine in Endovier and she had set those eyes upon him, still fierce despite a year in hell, he’d been walking toward this, walking to her. So Chaol brushed away her tears, lifter her chin, and kissed her.”

Screw everyone who laughs at me for this.  When this ship sunk I died a little bit.  Seriously, when I go back and re-read this series in the future it’s going to be so hard to read these parts and just know that all good things come to an end.  Now don’t get me wrong, Rowan is 100% the best choice for Aelin…but Chaol was 100% the right choice for Celaena.  He pushed her to get back into shape, to get up just one more time during the tournament.  He is just so…human. I honestly wanted to say perfect because I love him so much but that’s obviously not true.  He messes up big time throughout this series but he makes amends.  I just cannot express how excited I am that Sarah wrote a whole book for him.  He deserves it.

  1. Han – Seven Realms

“So here’s the truth – I love you. I love everything about you – the way you stick up for people even when it costs you. The way you keep trying to do the right thing even when you’re not exactly sure what the right thing is. I love how you put words together. You’re as skilled with words as any knife fighter with a blade. You can put an enemy down on his back, or you can raise people up so they find what’s best in themselves. You’ve changed my life. You’ve given me the words I need to become whatever I want.
I love how you talk to lytlings. You don’t talk down to them. You respect them, and anybody can tell you’re actually interested in what they have to say.
I love the way you ride a horse – how you stick there like an upland thistle, whooping like a Demonai. I love the way you throw back your head and stomp your feet when you dance. I love how you go after what you want – whether it’s kisses or a queendom.
I love your skin, like copper dusted over with gold. And your eyes – they’re the color of a forest lake shaded by evergreens. One of the secret places that only the Demonai know about.
I love the scent of you – when you’ve been out in the fresh air, and that perfume you put behind your ears sometimes.
Believe it or not, I even love your road smell – of sweat and horses and leather and wool.
I want to breathe you in for the rest of my life.”

Omg after George Cooper from the Lioness Quartet, Han is my favorite thief of all time.  There is just something so damn charismatic about him that has you falling in love with him after the first page he’s on.  He’s cocky, he’s stubborn and hard headed, but you just can’t ever get sick of him.  My favorite thing about him actually was the fact that even though there were many times that he was in way over his head, he sought help from his friends.  He could act like an entitled jackass but he wasn’t.  Sigh…so stinkin dreamy.

  1. Domitan of Masbolle – Protector of the Small

The stranger grinned cheerfully at her.  In his early twenties, he was broad-shouldered, big-handed, and very handsome.  He wore his dark hair cut just below his ears.  His mouth was long and made for smiling.  He wore the uniform of the Own:  loose dark trousers, chain mail shirt, blue tunic with silver trim, and a white burnoose.  The crimson band around his biceps showed a dark circle with a black dot at its center: a sergeant’s badge.

IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THIS SERIES DO SO NOW.  Dom and Kel are my number one dream couple.  While they never expressly got together in the series, I know DEEP DOWN in my bones that they got together.  I mean come on, at the end of the fourth book Kel’s last thought was about being excited that Dom was at the fort so they could “catch up” after the war.  I have never read more fanfiction about any other couple lolol.  Seriously though..I have been in love with Dom for a very long time.  Long before Twilight hit the shelves and YA Fantasy became a popular and tangible thing, I was reading Tamora Pierce.  I might even say that Dom was my first true book boyfriend.  He had dark hair, blue eyes, and was a major flirt that took Kel seriously from the very first time that they met.  Double sigh….If I ever meet Tamora Pierce I hope she can confirm this ship for me.

Now for the rest.  These aren’t in any particular order and they aren’t the only ones on my list though they are some of the characters that have impacted me in some way.  I highly recommend each and every one of these series!

  1. Kell – A Darker Shade of Magic

“Don’t you see?” said Calla. “He wasn’t coming to pay your debt. He was coming to see if you’d returned to pay it yourself.” Lila felt her face go hot. “I do not know why you two are circling each other like stars. It is not my cosmic dance. But I do know that you come asking after one another, when only a few strides and a handful of stars divide you.”

  1. Gansey – Raven Boys

“I wish you could be kissed, Jane,’ he said. ‘Because I would beg just one off you. Under all this.’ He flailed an arm toward the stars.”

  1. Arin – The Winner’s Trilogy

“Arin pulled her onto his lap. He held her shaking form, tucked his face into the crook of her cold neck as she sobbed against him. He murmured that he loved her more than he could say. He promised that he would always choose her first.”

  1. Kaz – Six of Crows duology

“I would have come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together-knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.”

  1. Garett – Talon

“I couldn’t,” he finally whispered. “You were the one who taught me to live, to take chances. For a while, I convinced myself that we were too different, and that it was better to let you go. But now, I’ve come to the realization that my life is probably going to be very short. And I want to spend it doing something that matters. With someone that matters. I don’t want to regret that I gave up without a fight.”

  1. Connor Cobalt & Ryke Meadows – The Calloway Sisters

Connor: “There are rare people who will fuel the fire inside of you, who will awaken a dormant passion, who will push you and better you. She alone is my rarity.”

Ryke: I nodded a couple times, and she practically radiated. As though she felt the air shift, brighter and lighter.
I felt it too.
And I fucking thought, thank God.
Thank God the sun will rise again.

  1. Liam – The Darkest Minds

“I think I’m losing it—I don’t know what’s happening, what happened, but I look at you, I look at you, and I love you so much. Not because of anything you’ve said, or done, or anything at all. I look at you, and I just love you, and it terrifies me. It terrifies me what I would do for you.”

  1. Perry – Under the Never Sky

“Your voice sounds like a midnight fire. All warm and worn in and golden. I could listen to you talk forever.”
“I could never do that”.
She laughed at him. He brought his lips to her ear.
“Your scent is like violets early in spring,” he whispered. Then he laughed at himself because though it was true, he sounded like the worst kind of fool.”

 

  1. Conrad – The Summer I Turned Pretty

“I still love you.  I never stopped.  I think you know it.  I think you’ve known it all along”

2 thoughts on “My Bookish Valentines

Leave a Reply

